Retina Consultants of Hawaii Awards

Doctors Kokame, Lai, and Wee all have received numerous prestigious awards, listed below.  Also, they were named Best Doctors of 2015!

2015 best doctors logo

Dr. Kokame

1998 – present: Best Doctors in America

2000- present:  Top Doctors in Hawaii

2014: Senior Achievement Award, American Academy of Ophthalmology

2014: American Ophthalmological Society Inductee After Aceeptance of Thesis

2013: The 11th Thomas H. Pettit Lecture, Jules Stein Eye Institute, UCLA

2011: Hawaii Ophthalmological Society, Recognition for Support of Ophthalmic Research in Hawaii

2008: American Academy of Ophthalmology’s Secretariat Award

2003: Senior Honor Award, American Society of Retina Specialists

2001: Rhett Bucklers Video Award (Emmy for Vitreous Society), Surgical Maneuvers Category, Vitreous Society Puerto Rico

2001: Honor Award, Vitreous Society

1999: Achievement Honor Award, American Academy of Ophthalmology


Dr. Lai

2009 – present: Best Doctors in America

2007 – present:  Top Doctors in Hawaii

2005-2006: Teaching Attending of Year, Long Island Jewish/North Shore University, Department of Ophthalmology

2002: Hornaday Fellow Teaching Award, Duke University Eye Center

2000: Awarded AOS-Knapp Ophthalmic Foundation Fellowship

2000: Selected as Ronald G. Michels Foundation Award recipient

2000: Selected as the Society of Heed Fellows Fellow (awarded to the top Heed Fellow in the nation)

1999: Ronald G. Michels Resident Research Award, The Wilmer Ophthalmological Institute

1996: Hewlett-Packard Award, Presented to the top 5 graduates of the medical school class

1996: Dean’s Award for Research Excellence, Awarded to the two graduating students who made outstanding research contributions during their medical school career


Dr. Wee

2012-present: Best Doctors in America

2012-present: Top Doctors in Hawaii

2009: “Golden Apple” Award for best fellow as elected by WashU ophth residents

2008: American College of Surgeons Exemplary Teaching Award – top 10 finalist

2003: Robert Carter Medical School Award from WashU Medical School

2003: Max and Evelyn Grand Prize from WashU Dept of Ophthalmology

2002: William Ellis Research Prize from WashU Dept of Ophthalmology

1998: Alan Bateman Prize from Yale University